ABOUT HEAL

The Health Equity Alliance (HEAL) is a non-profit agency providing direct service and advocating on behalf of Maine's LGBTQ+ community, people living with HIV/AIDS, and people who use drugs.

OUR MISSION

The Health Equity Alliance envisions a world in which all people are valued and celebrated, and health disparities such as HIV, Hepatitis C and AIDS-related deaths are nonexistent.

 

By facilitating collaboration, education, advocacy, and action, HEAL empowers marginalized communities to improve their health and well-being and affect social and cultural change.

OUR HISTORY

The Down East AIDS Network was founded in 1987 in response to the HIV/AIDS epidemic in rural Down East Maine. It grew out of the sadness and anger of Down East Maine’s LGBTQ+ community who were overwrought with watching their loved ones waste away and die while the Government would not even acknowledge the virus’ existence. A couple of filing cabinets in a living room and a handful of immensely passionate and committed people provided what comfort they could, helping clients navigate the complicated system of health care and social assistance in an era before the advent of effective HIV medications.

With the passage of the Ryan White Cares Act in 1990, the agency finally received the support it needed to more effectively address the growing epidemic. Incorporating and hiring their first paid Director, the organization became a vital support for the rural region’s HIV positive population, providing critical case management and social support. They further grew to provide invaluable prevention services, including education and HIV testing, followed later by syringe exchange services.

In 2011, the Board of the Down East AIDS Network began a prolonged strategic planning process that would lead to a dramatic overhaul of the agency’s mission and vision. This process was informed and inspired by the recognition that the diverse communities they served had a commonality of a history of social marginalization -and they all experienced a multitude of other health disparities beyond incidence of HIV, and that these two facts were inextricably interconnected. The real issue, the Board recognized, was not just HIV/AIDS or other health disparities, but marginalization itself.

In 2013, the Down East AIDS Network adopted the Eastern Maine AIDS Network -a sister program based in Bangor- leading to the formation of the Health Equity Alliance. Driven by a mission to “empower marginalized communities to improve their health and well-being and affect social and cultural change,” the Health Equity Alliance has developed into a regional Health Justice organization, with offices throughout Northern and Central Maine. Our work has also expanded to explore the intersection between the disciplines of public health and social justice, in an effort to end health disparities by changing the social systems that perpetuate marginalization.

Today the Health Equity Alliance works closely with marginalized communities throughout Maine through programs advancing the health and well-being of people living with HIV, the LGBTQ+ community, people who use drugs, and others. Our work includes individual-direct service programs, capacity building and technical assistance initiatives intended to foster more affirming services and practices, efforts to build community and relational power and the advancement of policy priorities that will have a real and lasting impact upon constituent’s lives.

OUR BOARD

Jim LaPierre (President)

Executive Director, Higher Ground Counseling

Nicole Golden-Bouchard (Vice President)

Staff Attorney, Pine Tree Legal Assistance

Terry Greenier (Treasurer)

President/Owner, I Care Pharmacy

Liz Sullivan (Secretary)

Human Services Instructor,

Washington County Community College

Lois-Ann Kuntz

Associate Professor, University of Maine;

Adviser, 100% Society

 

Kimberly Hammill

Advocate, Bangor Racial and Economic Justice Coalition

Alysia Melnick

Attorney, Bernstein Shur Law Firm;

Legislative and Political Law Practice Group

Cindy Leiffer, RN, NP

Retired

Jesse Harvey

Founder/Director of Mission, Journey House Sober Living

Royce Hardin

Community Member and Volunteer

Bella O'Hammon

Maine Transgender Network

ADMINISTRATION

Kenney Miller

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x213

kenney@mainehealthequity.org

Anthony Fischetti, SHRM-CP
Dana Carver-Bialer, MPP, MA, PhD 

DIRECTOR, FINANCE & OPERATIONS

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x208

anthony@mainehealthequity.org

DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 x210

dana@mainehealthequity.org

Whitney A. Parrish
Mimi Nangle

BOOKKEEPER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 667-3506

mimi@mainehealthequity.org

DIRECTOR, ADVOCACY &

COMMUNICATIONS

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 812-5043 

whitney@mainehealthequity.org

Christine Gilbert

MEDICAL BILLING SPECIALIST

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 x209

christine@mainehealthequity.org

Clare Cartheuser

HEALTH JUSTICE VISTA VOLUNTEER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 X224

clare@mainehealthequity.org

Jill Henderson

COMMUNICATIONS AND DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 x222

Jill@mainehealthequity.org

CASE MANAGEMENT & MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES

Willow Yerxa, LSW

REGIONAL MANAGER, HANCOCK AND WASHINGTON COUNTIES

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 667-3506

willow@mainehealthequity.org

Jim Alciere, LSW

MEDICAL CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 255-5849

jim@mainehealthequity.org

Mike Bibro, LADC, CCS

SUBSTANCE USE CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 249-8916

mike@mainehealthequity.org

Brad Smith

MEDICAL CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x207

brad@mainehealthequity.org

Cody Harriman, LSW-c

CARE PROGRAM MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x204

cody@mainehealthequity.org

Ashley Brown

HARM REDUCTION PROGRAM  MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 x203

ashley@mainehealthequity.org

Toby Betancourt

SUBSTANCE USE CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x218

toby@mainehealthequity.org

Megan Harrigan, MHRT/C

MEDICAL CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626 X219

megan@mainehealthequity.org

LGBTQ+ SERVICES

Sarah Haas

LGBTQ+ COMMUNITY ORGANIZER

Pronouns: She/Her/They/Them

(207) 990-3626 x215

sarah@mainehealthequity.org

Orion Tucker

LGBTQ+ PROGRAM MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x220

orion@mainehealthequity.org

Shane Boyes, M.Ed. 

LGBTQ+ TOBACCO & CANCER EQUITY COORDINATOR

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 990-3626 x214

shane@mainehealthequity.org

HARM REDUCTION SERVICES

Arielle Metcalf

MACHIAS/CALAIS HARM REDUCTION COMMUNITY ORGANIZER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 255-5849

arielle@mainehealthequity.org

Duncan Dwyer

HARM REDUCTION EDUCATION & TRAINING SPECIALIST

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 565-7038

duncan@mainehealthequity.org

June Evergreen

HARM REDUCTION COORDINATOR

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 990-3626

june@mainehealthequity.org

Visit Us

Bangor

304 Hancock Street, Suite 3B

207.990.3626

Belfast

147 Waldo Avenue

207.249.8916

Ellsworth

Contact Us

5 Long Lane, Suite 1

207.667.3506

Machias

7 VIP Drive

207.255.5849

Connect with Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Health Equity Alliance Logo.png

© 2019 by the Health Equity Alliance.