ABOUT HEAL

Health Equity Alliance (HEAL) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization providing direct service and advocacy with and on behalf of people in Maine who live with HIV, people who use drugs, and our LGBTQ+ community.

OUR MISSION

Health Equity Alliance envisions a world where all people are valued and celebrated, and health disparities such as HIV, Hepatitis C, AIDS-related deaths, and overdose deaths are nonexistent.

 

By facilitating collaboration, education, advocacy, and action, HEAL helps empower marginalized communities to improve their health and well-being, and affect social and cultural change.

OUR HISTORY

The Down East AIDS Network was founded in 1987 in response to the HIV/AIDS epidemic in rural Down East Maine. It grew out of the sadness and anger of Down East Maine’s LGBTQ+ community who were overwrought with watching their loved ones waste away and die while the Government would not even acknowledge the virus’ existence. A couple of filing cabinets in a living room and a handful of immensely passionate and committed people provided what comfort they could, helping clients navigate the complicated system of health care and social assistance in an era before the advent of effective HIV medications.

With the passage of the Ryan White Cares Act in 1990, the agency finally received the support it needed to more effectively address the growing epidemic. Incorporating and hiring their first paid Director, the organization became a vital support for the rural region’s HIV positive population, providing critical case management and social support. They further grew to provide invaluable prevention services, including education and HIV testing, followed later by syringe services.

In 2011, the Board of the Down East AIDS Network began a prolonged strategic planning process that would lead to a dramatic overhaul of the agency’s mission and vision. This process was informed and inspired by the recognition that the diverse communities they served had a commonality of a history of social marginalization -and they all experienced a multitude of other health disparities beyond incidence of HIV, and that these two facts were inextricably interconnected. The real issue, the Board recognized, was not just HIV/AIDS or other health disparities, but marginalization itself.

In 2013, the Down East AIDS Network adopted the Eastern Maine AIDS Network -a sister program based in Bangor- leading to the formation of Health Equity Alliance. Driven by a mission to “empower marginalized communities to improve their health and well-being and affect social and cultural change,” Health Equity Alliance has developed into a regional Health Justice organization, with offices throughout Northern and Central Maine. Our work has also expanded to explore the intersection between the disciplines of public health and social justice, in an effort to end health disparities by changing the social systems that perpetuate marginalization.

Today Health Equity Alliance works closely with marginalized communities throughout Maine through programs advancing the health and well-being of people living with HIV, people who use drugs, the LGBTQ+ community, and others. Our work includes individual-direct service programs, capacity building and technical assistance initiatives intended to foster more affirming services and practices, efforts to build community and relational power, and the advancement of public policy priorities that will have a real and lasting impact upon the lives of marginalized Mainers.

For Press Inquiries:

Contact Whitney Parrish, Director of Advocacy & Communications, at whitney@mainehealthequity.org, or call/text 207.812.5043

Our Board

Kim Hammill - Vice President

Zach Campbell - Treasurer

Jim LaPierre - Director

Miloh Hughes - Secretary

ADMINISTRATION

jennbiofinal-4.jpg
Jennifer Thompson

INTERIM EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2895

jennifer@mainehealthequity.org

IMG_3122_edited.jpg
Jill Henderson

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2774

Jill@mainehealthequity.org

60604351_10156156258603199_4629230590464
Anthony Fischetti, SHRM-CP

CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 888-2773

anthony@mainehealthequity.org

MicrosoftTeams-image (6).png
Robbie Lorenzo

DIRECTOR, FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 888-9653

Robbie@mainehealthequity.org

Headshot1.jpg
Whitney A. Parrish

DIRECTOR, POLICY & ADVOCACY

Pronouns: She/Her, They/Them

(207) 888-9276

whitney@mainehealthequity.org

christine headshot_edited.jpg
Christine Gilbert

MEDICAL BILLING SPECIALIST

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-9295

christine@mainehealthequity.org

CASE MANAGEMENT 

Jim Alciere, LSW

MEDICAL CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 664-3612

jim@mainehealthequity.org

Walter.jpg
Walter McCulley III

Case Manager

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 888-2748

walter@mainehealthequity.org

Cody Harriman, LSW-c

CARE PROGRAM MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 888-9924

cody@mainehealthequity.org

Megan Harrigan, MHRT/C

MEDICAL CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2832

megan@mainehealthequity.org

164-0-4.jpg
Dominique Flagg

CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2781

dominique@mainehealthequity.org

160-0-4.jpg
Athena Diligenti

SUBSTANCE USE CASE MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2845

athena@mainehealthequity.org

LGBTQ+ SERVICES

file-16.jpeg
Sarah Haas

LGBTQ+ COMMUNITY ORGANIZER

Pronouns: She/Her/They/Them

(207) 888-9293

sarah@mainehealthequity.org

Headshot_Orion.jpg
Orion Tucker

LGBTQ+ PROGRAM MANAGER

Pronouns: He/Him/His

(207) 888-2562

orion@mainehealthequity.org

HARM REDUCTION SERVICES

Ashley Brown

HARM REDUCTION PROGRAM MANAGER

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2823

ashley@mainehealthequity.org

thumbnail_thumbnailphoto.jpg
June Evergreen

HARM REDUCTION COORDINATOR

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

(207) 888-2703

june@mainehealthequity.org